Meadowbank Governors have many responsibilities and kindly volunteer their time and experience for the good of the school community.   


The Meadowbank Academy Governing Board has three core functions and is responsible for:

  • ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • to support and challenge the systems within the school to ensure the performance of the school remains at its highest level;
  • overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

To ensure effective governance, the following have been put in place:

  • the appointment of individuals with the necessary skills, and diversity of perspectives;
  • an effective chair and an explicit governor code of conduct;
  • clear governance structures with tightly defined remits;
  • clear separation, but a positive relationship, between the role of the board and its school leaders;
  • the support and advice of an independent and professional clerk;
  • robust processes for finance, business planning and compliance;
  • processes for regular self-evaluation, review and improvement.

Constitution;  11 Governors (1 Staff, 8 Co-opted, 2 Parents)

The Chair of Governors can be contacted by post;

FOA: Mrs Lynsey Galley

C/O Meadowbank Primary School, Councillor Lane, Cheadle, Cheshire SK8 2LE


Name Appointment Term Governor Type Governor Role Business Interests Declared 2019-2020 Leaving Date
Lynsey Galley 26.04.16-25.04.20 Co-Opted Governor Chair of Governors

Trustee at the Education Learning Trust.

Married to member of staff at Meadowbank Primary.

Janine Appleton ex officio Co-opted Governor Headteacher Governor at The Kingsway School and Westmorland Primary School.  
Sally Jarvis 09.02.19-08.02.23 Co-Opted Governor Inclusion & Safeguarding Governor None  
Chloe Trebble 07.10.19-06.10.23 Co-Opted Governor Progress Governor

Member of staff at Oasis Community Learning

Trustee at Catalyst Community Trust

Matthew Kemp 09.02.19-08.02.23 Co-Opted Governor Finance Governor None  
Mike Newman 11.05.19- 10.05.23 Co-Opted Governor Community Governor Chair of St. Cuthberts Old School Nursery  
Grace Okyere-Fosu 07.10.19- 06.10.23 Co-Opted Governor Inclusion & SEND Governor None 07.12.20
Karen Larner 13.01.21-12.01.25 Co-Opted Governor Inclusion and SEND Governor None  
Victoria Doyle 07.10.19- 06.10.23 Parent

EYFS Governor

Governor at St Luke's RC Primary School, Salford. 

Member of staff at Cardinal Langley RC High School, Middleton

Phil Knight


Parent   None  
Kellie Carrington 11.05.19-10.05.23 Staff Governor Development None  
David Cowhig 11.05.19-10.05.23 Co-Opted Governor Vice Chair and EYFS Governor Married to member of staff at Meadowbank Primary 22.10.19

Governors who have served in the past 12 months:

Ian Kennedy from 06.10.17 to 12.10.20

Academy Governing Board Meeting dates 2020/21 

Autumn Term

Monday 12.10.20

Monday 07.12.20



Spring Term

Monday 08.02.21

Monday 22.03.21



Summer Term 

Monday 17.05.21

Monday 19.07.21












Dates are added to the school diary in advance to support school and Governors in planning busy calendars. Times and days of the week are planned to enable relevant school staff members to attend and meet with Governors.




© Copyright 2019–2021 Meadowbank Primary School